parenting

Books, glorious books!

I love to read, anyone who knows me knows how much I love books. If the film Inside Out was real then reading would be one of my golden memories and I’d have a little island called Story Land. 

My strongest memory relating to books is going to the library with my late, beloved Granny. She went every week with her good friend Joyce as part of the WI and picked up books to deliver to residents of a nearby old folks home. I surprised the librarian on one of these weekly trips, aged around 10, by saying I had read all of the children’s books so needed her to direct me to the next section please – just call me Matilda!

When my firstborn came along I was determined that I would instill the same love of reading in him as I have. When he was really tiny I’d even read my trashy magazines out loud to him just to let him hear what the words sounded like (and to keep my celebrity gossip knowledge fresh obv)

Fast forward 5 years and I have a little book buddy. He excells in his reading at school and loves story time at home. We try to encourage him to read along with us when doing his bedtime story, but sometimes it is just nice to let him cuddle up and listen to a chapter of a book too. 

We have many favourites, too many to list them all here but I will tell you the ones that are now looking a bit dog eared having been read and reread so many times.


Hairy Maclary from Donaldson’s Dairy by Lynley Dodd – This was actually one my little sister adored as a child and R has picked up from her. It is also a joy to read as an adult with lots of lovely rhyming and the subsequent stories with the same group of animals are great too.

Stickman by Julia Donaldson – I read this one to R so much that I could actually recite it to him whenever he demanded it even without the book. His dad took him to see the stage show in Edinburgh a few years ago too and he loved it! I now look at lone sticks in the park and wonder if they too are trying to get home to their stick lady love.

The Gruffalo by Julia Donaldson – The Gruffalo is a joy, and we have also enjoyed the tv adaptation and several Gruffalo themed walks (both made up by us and proper organised ones) around Scotland. if you are sensing a trend here then you are spot on. We all love pretty much anything by the wonderful Julia Donaldson.

Matilda by Roald Dahl – I think why I love this one is fairly self explanatory. This one will always stick with me and my boys. 

Cops and Robbers by Allan Ahlberg – R was given this book by his godfather Tristan having been a favourite of his as a child (probably one of the most thoughtful gifts a person can receive I think!) Upstanding Officer Pugh saves the day in this timeless story.

Outlander Series by Diana Gabaldon – A sexy Scottish time travelling romance series…because Mama needs some Jamie Fraser in her life after all that wholesome rhyming!!

K x

Leave a Reply

