Uncategorized

Birchbox Review – March 2017

So it’s taken me a fair while to write up this months review, not due to a late delivery but really my own reluctance to post something negative. When I first received this box I was really disappointed, it looked plain and I felt the selection of products was far poorer than my original box in February. However I have given it a fair chance and some time and things have turned around slightly for March’s Signed, Sealed, Delivered box. 

The design ie a plain brown box was a hark back to their original packaging as this month was a celebration of 100k subscribers which makes sense but certainly wasn’t visually thrilling upon initially opening. As thanks to subscribers for helping them on their journey so far there was a nice 20% discount code for use on their website as well as a full sized Benefit lipstick.

1. Benefit They’re Real Double the Lip – Travel Size. Full size RRP £16.50

For March all subscribers received a brand new product from Benefit – They’re Real Double the Lip, an innovative teardrop shaped lipstick that geniously also incorporates a liner and promises to give you fuller looking lips in one easy stroke. You were able to choose between two different colours, Lusty Rose and Pink Thrills, I went with Lusty Rose which I found to be a really lovely dusky pink shade on me. The formula was nice and non drying and had good colour pay off. My lips did look pretty damn voluptuous upon application, but that could be because I don’t usually wear lip liner on my fairly full lips.
2. Batiste 2 in 1 Invisible Dry Shampoo & Conditioner – Travel size 50ml. Full size RRP £4.49

This was one product I was happy to find, with a 4 month old baby I have limited hair washing/styling time at the moment. As always Batiste has delivered, this has improved on the usual product, cleaning my hair without leaving a powdery residue and lightly conditioning it too. I prefer these in a travel size as they can be slung in a handbag, luggage or changing back for a freshen up on the go.

3. Balance Me Instant Lift Primer – Sample Size 5ml. Full size RRP £22.00

This skincare item claims to be a complexion perfecting skin smoother that’s 99% natural and instantly lifts and refines the skin so it looks more youthful and virtually pore less. I did not especially like this primer, it felt heavy on my skin and despite giving it a reasonable trial of 2 weeks I felt it did not live up to any of the brands claims. It is also heavily scented, admittedly I liked the scent but it wouldn’t be for everyone.

4. Caudalie Vine[Activ] Glow Activating Anti-Wrinkle Serum – Sample Size 5ml. Full Size RRP £36

This was one of my least favourite products to start with. I was disappointed at having two serum style skincare items and this one felt a bit wishy washy. However after two weeks I am a convert. My knackered sleep deprived skin is, by some miracle, looking clear and glowing. I will absolutely be purchasing the full size of this, especially with the 20% discount provided by Birchbox.

5. Rituals The Ritual of Sakura Foaming Shower Gel – Sample Size 50ml – Full Size RRP £8.50

This was a bit meh for me. It’s foam was only so so, rather than the thick luxurious bubbles I was hoping for. The scent was nice enough but lasted as long as my shower did and then was gone. Not worth spending nearly a tenner on what is really just a swankily packaged shower gel.

So being happy with three out of five products isn’t bad but given that one was something I would buy anyway and the other was a Benefit item it’s not great. Here’s hoping the April box in collaboration with Boden is an improvement!

BONUS REVIEW – Boots Time Delay Youth Maintain Day Moisturiser SPF15 – £5

I saw this on offer at a fiver in Boots about a month ago and as I was in need of a new moisturiser I snapped it up. The packaging is really luxurious for an ‘own brand’ product, thick frosted glass pot and a super cute glossy pink (my colour of the moment) lid! The actual day cream is equally luxurious feeling, a really nice texture and light scent. My skin is feeling nourished, moisturised and is looking bright and glowing. Thrilled to have found such a bargain that lives up to all it’s claims!

What did you think of the March Birchbox and do you have any bargain wonder products? Let me know in the comments!

K x

Leave a Reply

