Home decor

Lust List 

Having purchased ALL the paint, I have recently turned my attention to soft furnishings. I know, I am so rock and roll these days! 

I had no idea what a wealth of super cool home decor small businesses there is out there. Sooo many!! Too many for me to list all of them but I thought I would collate a bit of a lust list of my favourite companies and the items that caught my eye from each of them. Some of these I have already purchased and some are still sitting in my online basket waiting for pay day so I can hit the order button.

Nikki McWilliams – https://nikkimcwilliams.com/

I had to start with some grown scottish talent! Born of a fascination with the Tea Break tradition Nikki’s designs are cute, colourful and a must have for any biscuit lover! Pastel cushions, enamel pins and a range of gorgeous accessories all done in the style of traditional biccies. I have been obsessing about these since I first stumbled across the brand on Instagram and my first purchase arrived just a few weeks ago. 

Look at that – a pink ombré custard cream! It truly is the stuff of dreams. I also have my eye on a Sky Blue Jammy Heart round cushion.

Postcards Home – https://postcardshome.co.uk/

Based in North London but born in Kerala South India, Postcards Home is a homewear and gift online store inspired by travel and world heritage. They work with many independent designers from all around the world to bring a collection that is diverse and super colourful.

I really liked the fact that they also place huge value on ensuring all their products are ethically sourced and work with various social enterprises too.

This gorgeous Camel Traders cushion (£45) is currently sitting in my basket along with some of their stunning enamel bowls (£9) – I can never have enough bowls for ‘things’! 


It is also worthwhile checking out their kids range while browsing their site, gorgeous pjs and hand crafted organic cotton toys.

Wool Couture – http://www.notonthehighstreet.com/woolcouture

A small business based in Yorkshire founded over a love of knitting – this one was always going to call to me! Their mission statement is “to keep traditional crafts alive with a modern and contemporary wooly twist” which in a hectic world where we rarely disconnect digitally, I feel is wonderful. They make amazing chunky hand knitted blankets and also sell kits to allow you to create your own at home.

They use incredibly soft Merino wool in a huge array of colours and their onsite woodturners turn the giant knitting needles from tulip wood. So whether you prefer to purchase a ready made luxury product such as this Giant Hand Knitted Super Chunky Throw (£200) 


Or would rather give yourself a challenge and order one of the many kits such as this – Blanket Knit Kit Super Chunky Diy Giant Throw (£74)


It is definitely worth taking a nosy over at their site – I will be spending my evenings whipping up my very own chunky throw in a particularly attractive shade of baby blue.

I could go on and on, literally for pages on the amazing companies out there making awesome homewear and these are just the small businesses, places like Next and George at Asda have some brilliant finds at bargain prices too! Half the fun for me has been tracking these brands down on Instagram and on market place sites such as Etsy and Not On The Highstreet.  So I will send you all on your way to see what you can discover, and if you want to send any gems back my way I will be eternally grateful (Colin not so much, he is starting to panic about us having too many cushions!)  

K x

Leave a Reply

